The United States Military’s Bronze Star Medal Award

January 27, 2017 § Leave a comment

Bronze Star Medal pic

Bronze Star Medal

United States Army Colonel Sherb Sentell currently serves as the Minden-Ward 1 City Judge for the city of Minden, Louisiana. Sherb Sentell has also had a successful career in the Army and received two Bronze Star Medals.

The Bronze Star Medal was authorized by former President Roosevelt on February 4, 1944, as an award meant to recognize members of all branches of the United States military for either heroism in combat or meritorious service. It is the fourth-highest honor of the individual military awards. The award was first conceived in 1943 by Colonel Russell P. “Red” Reeder, who saw the medal as a way to encourage service members in their efforts. The award may also be given to members of foreign armed services who have served with the United States, given the award’s relatively broad criteria for recipients.

The medal has the shape of a bronze star and can come with a few variations. If the medal contains a bronze “V,” the medal was awarded for an act of valor, or combat heroism. A medal without the “V” was received for meritorious service. In the Army, if any additional bronze medal awards are received, a Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster is worn in their place.


Details of the Reserve Component National Securities Course

March 18, 2016 § Leave a comment

Reserve Component National Securities Course pic

Reserve Component National Securities Course

Sherb Sentell III serves his community as the Minden-Ward 1 City Judge and serves the nation as a Colonel in the United States Army Reserve. Sherb Sentell III has graduated from a number of military schools and advanced courses, including the Reserve Component National Security Course in Washington, DC.

Over the course of two weeks, the Reserve Component National Security Course teaches participants the skills that they need to lead in joint command positions. Students prepare for roles in intergovernmental and multinational settings, as well as in joint national security situations. The interactive workshop includes seminars, lectures, and discussions as well as site visitation and a national crisis response simulation. This simulative exercise invites participants to apply a range of diplomatic, military, and other metrics to allocate power in a way that advances national interests.

The program is open to senior officers and senior warrant officers as well as senior non-commissioned officers (NCOs) and civilians of grade designation GS-13 and higher. Service members must demonstrate potential for higher levels of leadership, though individuals who have completed the course in the past are not eligible. Interagency professionals and partners of the US Defense and National Security Industry may contact course staff for specific eligibility information.

About the Bronze Star Medal

March 11, 2016 § Leave a comment

 Bronze Star Medal  pic

Bronze Star Medal

As Minden-Ward 1 City Judge in Minden, Louisiana, Sherb Sentell III draws on more than 21 years of experience practicing law. Sherb Sentell III has also served in the United States military for over 26 years and is a recipient of two Bronze Star Medals.

Originally authorized in 1944, the Bronze Star Medal recognizes a member of any service branch for notable service or exceptional heroism. The act must take place in the context of ground combat and must relate to movements against an armed opponent who is an enemy of the nation. Heroic acts that do not qualify for the Silver Star may be eligible for the Bronze Star, as may service with distinction that is not at a level required for Legion of Merit honors.

Made in the shape of a five-pointed star, the medal measures 1.5 inches from tip to tip. A small raised star lies in the center with points extending toward the tips of the outer star, which is sculpted with 10 rays extending outward. The standard medal bears the recipient’s name as well as the words “Heroic or Meritorious Achievement,” though it may also carry a bronze “V” device for valor if the award recognizes heroism in combat.

A Brief Overview of the Meritorious Service Medal

February 25, 2016 § Leave a comment


Meritorious Service Medal pic

Meritorious Service Medal

A Louisiana attorney and partner at Sentell Law Firm, LLC, Sherb Sentell III was elected to the position of Minden-Ward 1 City Judge in 2014. Concurrently, Sherb Sentell III serves as a United States Army Colonel and has been awarded the Meritorious Service Medal on four occasions.

The Meritorious Service Medal has a history dating back to 1918. During World War I, General John Pershing of the American Expeditionary Forces recommended a medal be created to honor individuals who served commendably. While the request was not approved, it continued to receive support until 1969 when President Lyndon B. Johnson signed an executive order to create the medal.

The bronze accolade, which displays an eagle with spread wings holding laurel branches that represent achievement, recognizes men and women who served admirably outside of a combat theater. It typically is bestowed upon an individual when he or she retires from an officer or senior position. Likewise, service personnel who have completed their tour receive consideration for the medal.